my brain malformation and fat shaming

I am aghast–I am beyond aghast–that these so called medical professionals would deny treatment for this serious condition because they are prejudiced against a person’s body type. A person with this condition could lose all the weight in the world and there isn’t even a remote chance that the condition would be resolved.
The “war on obesity” is making things worse and worse. It has to stop, but it will never stop unless people SPEAK UP and make it clear that this kind of treatment is intolerable.
I so hope you find a doctor who will see you as a person and not a number on a BMI chart. This discrimination is unforgivable. Best wishes to you.

First, Do No Harm

Katrina writes:

As cheesy and cliche as it sounds, on June 25th, 2012 my entire world was turned upside down. I was diagnosed with Arnold Chiari Malformation, Type 1. Before my diagnosis, I was working five days a week, I had only fifteen credits left to obtain my Associates Degree, I was volunteering at a drug and alcohol rehabilitation center for women, I spent time all my free time working on my doula-lactation-childbirth education business, and I was enjoying being a newlywed. And then it was all gone.

The afternoon of June 21st I left work early with a blinding headache. My vision kept wavering on and off and I thought I was going to faint every time I stood up. My heart was pounding and it wouldn’t stop. I considered going to the hospital but, unwisely, I decided it was only a migraine. The next morning, feeling a little…

View original post 425 more words

Leave a Reply

