$40-million Calgary lotto winner plans to give fortune to charity

This guy deserves a mention, because, how damn cool is this! If I were to win such a sum of money, I’d give a lot away, but there are sure some circumstances in my own life that I’d use it to repair. I’d quit my job, get out of debt, get out of my money pit of a house, help my family. Sadly, for most of us, it’s only a dream. I’m glad this man won, though. Kudos to him!

National Post | News

CALGARY — A Calgary man who won $40 million seven months ago and then kept it secret from his own children says he will donate his entire winnings to charity.

Widower Tom Crist was the winner of the Lotto Max jackpot on May 3.

“Cancer is a big one because my wife passed away from cancer, two years ago in February,” Crist said Monday.

“She was fairly young,” Crist told CBC Radio. “She beat it for six years before it finally caught up to her.”

“I just retired at the end of September so I was fortunate enough in my career to set myself up and my kids anyway, and there was no doubt in my mind where that money was going to go, it was going to go to charity.”

[related_links /]

Crist, whose wife, Jan, died of lung cancer in 2012, said that he didn’t know which…

View original post 362 more words

Leave a Reply

