Lying Liars —

I used to be one of those people who went to the gym for 3+ hours at a time. I was also bulimic to varying degrees. I was miserable.
Nobody can maintain this sort of workout schedule if they have an actual job and a family. I was neglecting my son to try and get rid of my horrible, horrible baby weight. This, not the fact that I wasn’t able to maintain this kind of an exercise schedule, is what I should have been ashamed of.

Fierce, Freethinking Fatties

Weight LossFat HealthFat ScienceExerciseEating DisordersDickweedDiet Talk

Trigger warning: This post is all about weight loss research and the unhealthy lifestyle changes that weight loss gurus promote.

One thing I’ve always found amusing is how in order to be deemed an expert on weight loss (like Maria Kang), you must simply do one thing: lose weight. If you lose 100 pounds and have theDiet Help entrepreneurial spirit, you can open up shop on the internet and start dispensing advice like you’re Lucy from Peanuts.

That’s what the Capitalism is all about, right? If you’ve got the chops, you can make a living by offering goods or services that the public wants or needs. That’s all well and good, but what irritates me is that the fact that these self-ordained experts are assumed to be telling the truth about their lifestyle, regardless of the gaping holes in their story. Setting aside the fact that Kang promotes…

View original post 8,299 more words

One thought on “Lying Liars —

  1. I have periods pretty well every month, and I have given birth. Apparently, I am now an expert on gynecology!

Leave a Reply

