Then You Lose Weight

The “and then you lose weight” part kept me from exercising for many years, because I never did.
One day I said “to hell with it, I’m going to exercise anyway, even if I don’t lose weight.”
A year and a half later, I’m still exercising fairly faithfully!
All I had to do is tell myself that it didn’t matter whether I lost weight or not.
I have to be careful not to slip back into my orthorexic ways of thinking “more, more, more! If you aren’t exercising for a minimum of two hours, you’re a loser” type thoughts. I’ve done pretty well with it.

Dances With Fat

I had a conversation with a woman who said that she thinks that Weight Watchers is great and that I shouldn’t speak badly about them.  I asked her if she was familiar with WW’s success rates (or, you know, complete lack thereof).  She said that she wasn’t, but that the suggestions of the program were to eat healthy and exercise and that those are good things to do.  I agreed that those can be things that people choose to do, and that my problem is not the idea of “eat healthy and exercise” part, though it’s never an obligation, my issue is with the  “…then you lose weight” part, and the way that WW defines healthy eating and exercise.

I think that there are definitely weight loss programs that are just plain bad ideas (drink reconstituted soy protein shakes 5 times a day? Take a pill that gives you…

View original post 738 more words

Leave a Reply

