From the WTF Files: American Apparel’s Hairy Manikins

aa manikin with pubes

Here is the original post from AlterNet.

I find the hairless trend on real women to be creepy. I’m pretty old-school on this. Adults are supposed to have hair “down there.” Of course, in the long run, what other people do with their pubes is really none of anyone else’s business. It’s one of those “gads, I can’t believe I’m discussing this” topics.
I despise American Apparel, and even if I were young, thin, and hip enough to wear their clothes, I would sooner wear a garbage bag. This whole thing is a ploy for attention, of course. Putting pubes on manikins is ludicrous.

“The company also recently stirred a bit of genuinely interesting controversy with a T-shirt collaboration with artist Petra Collins. The shirt featured a line drawing of a woman’s menstruating vagina, which made some people feel very mad and uncomfortable.”

It’s a bit odd that a depiction of a menstruating vagina would make anyone angry, although there are people who tend to rave like lunatics about menstruation. However, I can’t imagine myself wearing a shirt with a even a line drawing of a menstruating vagina…or any other vagina or penis for that matter. I may not know art, but I know what I don’t want on my shirt!

Here is one of those farm-fresh ideas that I don’t see happening any time soon. What if American Apparel used models of all races and in all ranges of body types? Of course THAT will never happen. But their manikins now have pubes, so they are EDGY, by golly!

~Cie~

Leave a Reply

