What If You’re REALLY Fat…

Endocrine problems tend to spark weight gain. I always knew that hypothyroidism prompted weight gain and made weight loss difficult. I don’t believe that milder cases of hypothyroidism, such as I have, make any negative impact on life expectancy.
What I did not know is that insulin resistance, which I have evidently had for years, and which finally converted to full-blown diabetes, also promotes weight gain, makes weight loss difficult, and also causes nearly insatiable cravings for simple carbohydrates. When I went to doctors for help with this problem, I was always told to just have some willpower and not eat that stuff. I was treated like a silly, hysterical fat woman. My very real problem was not taken seriously.
Diabetes can shorten a person’s lifespan if blood sugar levels can’t be brought under control, because elevated blood sugar levels damage the vascular system, which can cause a myriad of problems. Fortunately, I have had no problem controlling my blood sugar levels thus far.
This has nothing whatever to do with the number on the scale, and everything to do with the number on the blood glucometer.
Here’s the thing: even if I was having difficulty bringing my blood sugar under control, that would not make me a horrible, morally deficient human being.
There is a woman at the retirement/assisted living community where I work who is half my size. She has diabetes. She is completely non-compliant with her treatment regimen. She sits in front of the TV and eats cookies and crackers all day. This is not to say I’m morally superior to her. What she does or does not do regarding her health is nobody’s business but hers. What I am saying is that just looking at us, people would assume that I’m the one that’s not compliant with treatment recommendations for my diabetes, simply based on my size, when, in fact, my blood glucose readings are very good because I am compliant with treatment.
Assumptions based on body type: not a good thing, and, almost always, inaccurate.

Dances With Fat

Diagnosis I’m producing a show of Plus Size Performers from Los Angeles ( details here ) and moving this week, plus we’re taking care of a rescue puppy who is severely sick so today is going to be a repost based on a number of conversations that I’ve heard recently about how things should be different if someone is “really fat.”

Often I get comments that say something like “I mean it’s ok to be a little big, but what about people who weigh [some random amount of weight that seems really high to the commenter from 200 pounds to more than 1,000, and/or some life circumstance, illness, or disability that seems like a big issue to them], when people are REALLY fat surely weight loss, including drastic measures (like stomach amputation or an at home stomach pump) should be taken.” or “Studies show that very fat people tend to…

View original post 1,320 more words

Leave a Reply

