The Oyster Girl

I’m all for feminist ballads, and cheesiness! I really hope you don’t mind me reblogging this, as I would like the small but thoughtful audience of Sly Fawkes (Opinionated Opinions) to enjoy it as well.

Disrupting Dinner Parties

So, I wrote a little song! And it’s not too bad as my songs go – a little cheesy as always, but it developed into a bit of a feminist ballad so I decided to share with everyone here. But first, a bit of background: my partner and I have this thing about oysters – mainly that we love to eat them, and do so at pretty much every conceivable opportunity, so we’ve dubbed ourselves “Team Oyster.” Once after a trip to the east coast with his mother, he brought me home a print from an art museum he went to – it was a seventeenth century Dutch painting called “Girl Eating Oysters,” which is self-explanatory. He told me he liked the playful and mischievous look on her face, which reminded him of me, and I had to agree and loved the gift. It is especially fun because oysters are…

View original post 260 more words

Leave a Reply

