Turning Up the Knob on Your Humanity

I find that so often these days it’s considered “cool” or “edgy” to be “brutally honest,” which is usually synonymous with being just plain mean. Mean never made the world better. Being fake nice isn’t any good either. Being genuinely kind is the only way.

Laura A. Lord

Photo: Shawn Allen via Flickr Shawn Allen via Flickr

As the person behind Gunmetal Geisha, it’s my pleasure to guest blog here. Please remember, women’s issues are human issues.

Do you roll eyes at so-called inspirational quotes and self-betterment platitudes? I know I do, which means if you don’t, you’re already a step ahead of me in terms of grace. After all, what is it to me if people find themselves uplifted where I might not? I should have the grace to summon neutrality in myself, rather than contempt, when it comes to how others choose to spread what they believe is goodness. And I’m working on it. In fact, I’m working on eliminating all contempt within myself in relation to other people’s tastes and beliefs that differ from my own. As my friend Joshua says, no need to “yuck anyone’s yum.”

Still, you can imagine how I struggled with writing a “messagey” piece…

View original post 1,304 more words

Leave a Reply

