the HAES® files: The Dangers of Living in a Safe House

My late father was a healthist when I was growing up. He wouldn’t allow anything made with refined sugar, or any sort of “junk food.” When I went over to friends’ houses, I stuffed my face with as much junk food as I could get my hands on.
I yo-yo dieted from my teens into my mid forties. I have also starved myself, binged and purged, and binged without purging. I do not have a healthy relationship with food.

Health At Every Size® Blog

by Stacey Nye, PhD

This article originally appeared in the September 2006 issue of the Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle.

I recently presented a workshop at a local spa on healing disconnected eating. As a guest presenter, my husband and I were treated to a weekend of complimentary food, exercise classes and other presentations by the spa’s staff. He attended a workshop given by the staff nutritionist on eating healthy. I was having my complimentary massage at this time, so had to come late. By the time I arrived, he was incensed.   “She’s teaching people to have a “safe house!” he exclaimed under his breath. “And they are all smiling, asking questions and shaking their heads in agreement!” After living with me for over 15 years, he knows better. He’s been educated about the dangers of dieting and the alternative wisdom of the HAES®/ Intuitive Eating process (1,2).

I was raised in…

View original post 1,266 more words

Leave a Reply

